Top Areas of Employment Discrimination

A little more than 50 years ago, Congress passed Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, which prohibits employment discrimination in the workplace. The law prohibits discrimination against employees, former employees, and applicants for employment on the basis of their race, color, sex, national origin and religion. Additional laws have been passed to protect against age discrimination, disability discrimination, and discrimination based on genetic information. The Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC), which investigates complaints of employment discrimination has just released its top 10 areas of discrimination for 2016, which lists retaliation (retaliatory conduct for complaining about discrimination) and race discrimination as the top complaints. If you believe you have suffered any form of discrimination, we urge you to contact our discrimination lawyers at once to begin an investigation and protect your rights.

The top ten complaints include:

  1. Retaliation
  2. Race
  3. Disability
  4. Sex
  5. Age
  6. National Origin
  7. Religion
  8. Color
  9. Equal Pay Act

10. Genetic Information Non-Discrimination Act

As Atlanta employment law attorneys, we are dedicated to fighting against all forms of discrimination. For more information or if you have faced discriminatory conduct at work, please contact the experienced Georgia anti-discrimination lawyers at Buckley Bala Wilson Mew LLP for an immediate case evaluation.

Leave a Comment